Love Letters
The Xenome Diaries
You Are (Another Me)
1Γ—
0:00
-13:02

You Are (Another Me)

Xenome 806

Dear Diary

Every now and then you come across something that will stick with you for the rest of your life. This week I followed a concept in some post I was reading to Wikipedia and beyond and somehow stumbled upon In Lak’ech and Pensamiento Serpentino by Luis Valdez.

In Lak'ech

TΓΊ eres mi otro yo. / You are my other me.

Si te hago daΓ±o a ti, / If I do harm to you,

Me hago daΓ±o a mi mismo. / I do harm to myself.

Si te amo y respeto, / If I love and respect you,

Me amo y respeto yo. / I love and respect myself.

This Mayan philosophy and greeting is similar in concept to the deeper meanings attributed to β€œnamaste”. The understanding of the interconnectedness of all beings is something I’ve carried with me since childhood. Another version I learned came from a class I took on Kabbalah a decade or so ago, stated as β€œthere is no separateness”.

It’s often difficult to hold the fullness of this idea in a world filled with hatred, violence, and bigotry. But maybe if we can just greet the people we meet with this intention, the world will eventually be a better place.

Progress

About the track

This track has several names. I always found naming instrumental tracks absurd, especially improvised ones. It’s a moment in time, but just like this post, it needs a handle to hold on to, so ultimately you just make something up that seems meaningful.

It was originally saved on my iPad as β€œ1. Receive from Bus A - 20 bpm - 001.wav”. I normalized it and trimmed it and then renamed the final track β€œ092823-01-C806.wav”. I went on to record another two tracks of free improv, decided I’d put an album together, and somewhat arbitrarily named the album β€œUnprepared Guitar”, which would have made this track β€œUnprepared Guitar, Part 1”. But then I needed a title for this post and landed on β€œYou Are (Another Me)”. So I’ve renamed the album and the track, and here we are.

This track completes about 5 hours I spend noodling on 806 over the past month or so. I didn’t record all of my improv on this xenome, but this is hopefully a decent representation, or at least an interesting one.

This is the first appearance of AudioThing’s Valves, which I’m really digging, and I think it adds a lot to the guitar tone. There’s also a new beta app I can’t talk about.

Tools and stuff

Gear: Strandberg Boden NX 7, M-Audio Air 192/14, iPad Pro M2

Pedals: Gamechanger Audio Plus, SSS SRV, Strymon Deco, tc electronic Subnup, electro-harmonix Mel9, electro-harmonix Ravish

Apps

Audio Damage: Other Desert Cities, Replicant 3

AudioThing: Gong Amp, Mantis, Noises, Valves, Texture, Springs

Blue Mangoo: Attack Softener

Igor Vasiliev: GlitchScaper

Jam Origin: MIDI Guitar 2

Kymatica: AUM, AudioShare, AU3FX:Push

Paul Driessen: PD Space Guitar

Sugar Bytes: Looperator

… and an app I can’t talk about.

Xenome 806

806 is a 3-note Xenome containing the root, major 6th, and minor 7th. While there is no common name for this set of notes, the Universal Encyclopedia of Scales calls it Phrygian Trichord Mode 3.

C-806 scale diagrams

Xenotuning
6-String Guitar
Keyboard
Magic Square

Leave a comment

0 Comments
Love Letters
The Xenome Diaries
My journey through uncharted harmonic realms via improvised musical meditations.